Behold the brick beauties given the Wienerberger Brick Award 2016

Winning the grand prize and category Urban Infill, House 1014 in Barcelona, Spain by HARQUITECTS. Photo Adria Goula

The Wienerberger Brick Award has offered a unique platform for the recognition of outstanding brick architecture of international quality since 2004.

In 2016, prizes were awarded in the following categories: Residential Use, Public Use, Re-Use, Urban Infill, and Special Solution. In total, more than 600 projects from 55 countries had been submitted. An independent pre-jury narrowed down the submissions to 50 nominations. From this shortlist a jury of four renowned architects (Laura Andreini, Archea Associati, Italy Johan Anrys, 51N4E, Belgium Matija Bevk, bevk perovic arhitekti, Slovenia Alfred Munkenbeck, Munkenbeck + Partners, UK) selected the winners.

Two projects were awarded the Grand Prize. One went to the project 2226 by architect Dietmar Eberle, located in Austria. Its main characteristic is lying in its energy concept. The entire building manages without ventilation, air conditioning, or heating. It also impressed in the Special Solution category.

Photo Eduard Hueber

The second Grand Prize winner, House 1014 in the historic city centre of Barcelona, is an excellent example of how to use “left-over” space in urban areas. The long and narrow site shows extreme site conditions. The project of HARQUITECTS also won in the Urban Infill category.

Photo Adria Goula

Termitary House in Vietnam, by Tropcial Space, won in the Residential Use category. The name describes the layout of the building, which resembles the building plan of a termite mount.

Photo Oki Hiroyuki

The auditorium of the AZ Groeninge health centre in Belgium is the winner in the Public Use category due to its extra ordinary detailed design.

Photo Dennis De Smet

In winner in the Re-Use category is the Marília project by Studio Super Limão in São Paulo, Brazil. It is one of the last historic brick buildings in the area. Instead of demolishing the building, it was agreed to preserve it.

Photo Maira Acayaba

A Special Prize went to the architect duo Duplex from Switzerland for their project Cluster House in Zurich.

Photo Johannes Marburg

Liked this article?
We've got more for you

Sign up to our newsletter for weekly updates. Or view the archive.

Execution time : 0,430594921112 seconds